Happy Birthday Mother Nature!

Credit: The Go Green Blog (thegogreenblog.com)

As I drove to work today and belted out Beyoncé’s “Irreplaceable” not only did I become aware that the people passing me were giving me funny looks but I also realized that I hadn’t decided on a goal for Earth Day today.  A few days ago I started seeing articles and other reminders that Earth Day was coming up and I figured I should do something (even if it was small).  I hadn’t done anything since elementary school when we were forced to take home little twigs with roots wrapped in wet paper towels inside zip lock bags to plant at our homes.  The zip lock bag totally defeated the purpose but I guess it was the only way for us to bring it home.  Of course, most of our little twigs ended up in the trash because our parents weren’t interested in the project and didn’t want us ripping up their lawns in order to plant the little branch. 

These past few years I’ve been taking small steps to help the environment.  I already recycle like a fiend, I’ve almost stopped using plastic wrap and foil to cover my lunches, I bring my own reusable bags when I go grocery shopping, I use a reuseable water bottle, and we use Compact Fluorescent Light (CFL) bulbs in our home. 

I decided that my goal is to volunteer for at least one beach cleanup in the state of CT this year.  I find the ocean to be fascinating and beautiful and it’s a shame that our waste ends up in it.  I’ve never done a beach cleanup but I figure it’s a nice way to help out and meet new people.  Ocean Conservancy has a lot of information on what they do, what kinds of rubbish they find during their cleanups and how you can help.  I’ve signed up for their 26th annual International Coastal Cleanup taking place Sept. 17, 2011.

Take the time today to wish Mother Nature a happy birthday and reflect on your relationship with her, she’s irreplaceable.

Leave a Reply

