Rain: My Allergies’ Savior

New England had it rough a snowpocalypse this past winter (see: Remember actually enjoying snow days as a kid? ), so for weeks I longed for the sun, green grass, flowers, and the sound of birds.  Although, there was this one morning when those birds woke me up 10 minutes before my alarm and I wanted to shoot each and every one of them.  Anyways, how quickly I’d forgotten that with all these wonderful things comes my worse enemy…springtime allergies!

I’ve never been tested so I don’t know the specifics of what kind of pollen I’m allergic to, but I do know that it’s the most annoying thing ever!  I can barely breathe at night.  My eyes and throat are all kinds of itchy and the sneezing, coughing, and nose blowing become somewhat exhausting.  I usually reach for a Claritin (loratadine) which helps with the itchiness, but this year someone recommended Zyrtec (cetirizine hydrochloride) so I’m trying that out to see if that helps with all the symptoms.  For those of you who can relate, is it just me or is the pollen really bad this year?  Pollen.com is a helpful site where you can type in your zip and it gives you the pollen forecast for you area and information on allergies.  It’s convenient because it reminds me to grab my bottle of Zyrtec and pop it in my bag if the pollen conditions are going to be high so I’m not dying all day.

When I’m in my allergy slump, and there are days where even the meds don’t seem to be working, the one thing I look forward to are spring showers.  I love the rain, mainly in the spring and summer when it’s refreshing and not freezing like winter rain.  It forces all that pollen to settle and then washes it away.  The mugginess/humidity before the rain is the worst but as soon as the sky opens up I’m breathing easier and sneezing less.  It’s relief, if only for a little while.

Leave a Reply

