Celebrity Divorces: Can the media get over it already?

Why is it big news when a celebrity couple files for divorce?  It’s a statistic that, unfortunately, happens to half of all married couples, but you don’t see it having a section next to obituaries and weddings with people posting about their break-ups.  I decided to write about this topic because a few weeks ago I saw that Ashlee Simpson was trending on twitter and decided to check it out (thinking she’d released a new song or something).  All the tweets were about her filing for divorce from her husband Pete Wentz.

Why does the media feel the need to let the public know that a couple is separating?  Then again, why does the media feel it’s necessary to let us know about every single juicy detail of a famous person’s life?  Had I written this back as a teen I would be considered a hypocrite since I’d eat-up the latest gossip and I found the lives of the rich and famous to be really interesting.  I’m not as obsessed anymore and I realize that these are everyday people who happened to choose a profession that gave them no privacy.  A lot of them do what they can to hang on to what little privacy they might have and I feel they deserve respect for that.I guess the news on one’s divorce isn’t surprising but the background story can be.  I try not to pay attention to the break-up stories but there’s one thing that does push my buttons and that is cheating.  Cheating is a huge deal in my book and I can’t stand people who do it.  Even if it’s the worst relationship you could possibly be in, why are you in it in the first place? and if your excuse is that you can’t get out of it…that’s just ridiculous.  Not only do I blame the cheaters but I have no sympathy for the ones who take the cheaters back (over, and over again).  At that point, you’re just hurting yourself.

My parents are divorced and now we’ve become part of the divorce stats.  I’m indifferent to the whole divorce thing.  I think it’s unfortunate and I hope that I’ll never have to go through it but on the other hand it’s something I can understand as being necessary to save the people of the relationship (not the relationship itself).  The world knows that divorce exists and it’s become a “normal” issue so I don’t see the point in the press bringing up celebrities’ divorces over and over again.  I know that they think the public loves hearing about what’s wrong with a person and how they’ve failed but, I feel, marriage is not something you mark someone as having failed.  Some things are just not meant to be.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lonnie Spargo
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 07:39:14

    They're celebrities, which makes every single thing that happens with their lives scrutinized. Indeed, they chose the profession that gave them no privacy. And, the bigger picture is that there's a "demand" – the people who are really into celebrities' lives. The thing is though; divorce is not a walk in the part. It's a heavy decision to make, and a difficult path to the next chapter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

