Remember actually enjoying snow days as a kid?

If April showers bring May flowers then what do the blizzards of December, January, and February bring?

  As I type this post, I can see a few flurries out my window. A few years back, if I were sitting at a desk in school, I would probably be jumping out of my seat like every other kid.  It’s unfortunate but as a young adult now, the snow is a pain and has become an enemy.  I remember snow being such an awesome thing to me when I was younger.  It helped me get out of school and it was fun to play with…probably the 2 most important things on a kids to-do-list in life.  Now, even if I have a snow day from work there’s no fun in it.  The past 3 blizzards that have hit New England have me craving sipping a margarita on a sunny beach far far away from here.  I’ve had enough with the plowing, shoveling, salting, slipping, sliding, spinning, messiness of it all!  I haven’t even had the chance to get my car washed since there’s bad weather every other day.  Let’s keep our fingers crossed that we’re done for the rest of the winter season!

The one thing I should appreciate about these snow days now is that there’s no having to make them up and I still get to have a spring break (sorry kiddies and teachers!) although, I guess there’s no such thing as a spring break for me anymore is there?  Oh well, guess I’ll be sipping on a margarita on the couch in front of the TV…not bad. 🙂

This Dodge commercial basically sums up what we’ve been through for the past 2 months.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 11:57:32

    I just remember snow from childhood. You guys did get a lot of snow this year, more than us. I have family in there and being from Buffalo they loved the snow. Now snow days are not as fun, they hardly ever close work and if you don't show up because of the weather they call you a whimp. I am proud to say I traveled through all the snow so far this year to get to work!!!! Thanks for the post 🙂

    Reply

  2. Priya
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 14:57:29

    Good for you Ellie! I ended up being one of those whimps even with an awesome AWD car. Just needed a day for myself I guess.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Rain: My Allergies’ Savior | Life Through My Looking Glass

Leave a Reply

